Disability, Work and Parenting Study Group


The Disability, Work and Parenting Study Group was established in 2013 as a study group of the Work and Family Researchers Network.

Study Group Aim:

The aim of the group is to bring together researchers, practitioners and parents to share their knowledge, expertise and experience of being and working with disabled parents and parents of disabled children who are in or trying to gain paid employment.

Study Group Objectives:

  • To share research findings and experience of combining paid work with parenting a disabled child.
  • To share research findings and experience of combining paid work and parenting when the parent has a disability.
  • To produce robust research that accurately reflects, and is targeted at improving, the work/life experience of disabled parents and parents of disabled children.
  • To work together to influence governments, service providers and employers to improve policy and practice in supporting disabled parents in or trying to gain paid work.
  • To work together to influence governments, service providers and employers to improve policy and practice in supporting parents in or trying to gain paid work who have a disabled child or children.

Group Meetings:

The group meets at the biennial Work and Family Researchers Network Conference.

Group Meeting Notes from the 2014 WFRN Conference

Activities at the 2014 WFRN Conference

How to Join the Study Group Listserv

The group is currently led by:

  • Tina Skinner, University of Bath,UK: t.skinner@bath.ac.uk

The founding members of the group are:

  • Theresa Brown, Georgian Court University, US: brownt@georgian.edu
  • Jamie Kass, Canadian Union of Postal Workers, CA: jkass@cupw-sttp.org
  • Donna Lero, University of Guelph, CA: dlero@uoguelph.ca
  • Susan Parish, Brandeis University, US: slp@brandeis.edu
  • Shirley Porterfield, University of Missouri-St. Louis, US: porterfields@umsl.edu
  • Tina Skinner, University of Bath, UK: t.skinner@bath.ac.uk
  • Lisa Stewart, California State University-Monterey Bay, US: listewart@csumb.edu
Additional group members include: 
  • Eileen Brennan, Portland State University, US: eileen@pdx.edu 
  • LeaAnne DeRigne, Florida Atlantic University, US: lderigne@fau.edu 
  • Radka Dudova, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, CZ: radka.dudova@soc.cas.cz
  • Mariam Gbajumo-Sheriff, University of Warwick, UK: M.A.Gbajumo-sheriff@warwick.ac.uk,
  • Jana Javornik, University of Leeds, UK: j.javornik@leeds.ac.uk
  • Almuth McDowall, University of Surrey and Worklife Consulting, UK: almuth@worklifeconsulting.co.uk
  • Narjes Mehdizadeh, Bradford University, UK:n.mehdizadeh@bradford.ac.uk
  • Triin Roosalu, Tallinn University, Estonia: triin.roosalu@tlu.ee 
  • Claudia Sellmaier, Portland State University, US: csellmaier@pdx.edu  
  • Nora Spinks, Vanier Institute, CN: ceo@vanierinstitute.ca 
  • Michelle Travis, University of San Francisco, US: matravis@usfca.edu 
  • Deborah Widiss, Indiana University Maurer School of Law, US: dwidiss@indiana.edu 
  • Anna Zhu, University of New South Wales, Australia: anna.zhu@unsw.edu.au